Call us : +977-083-524681

Email us :

मध्य पश्चिमाञ्चल विश्व विद्यालय

Mid-Western University

Governing Bodies

University Senate

The University Senate (US) is the supreme governing and decision-making body of the University. Among its functions, the Senate formulates and approves the policies of the University, provides guidance to the University and its bodies, and decides and evaluates about academic programs. The Senate also determines and awards degrees to be conferred by the university, fixes the number of teachers, administrative staff, and employees as well as terms and condition of their services. It discusses and approves annual budget proposals and audit reports of the University as well as examines and approves the annual reports of the bodies under the University.


Mid-Western University Senate consists of several members. The Chancellor of the University, the Hon’ble Prime Minister of Nepal, is the Chairperson of the University Senate, while the Pro-Chancellor, the Hon’ble Minister of Education, is the Vice Chairperson. The Vice Chancellor and the Registrar, together with Deans and representatives of the academic faculty, sit in the University Senate along with ex-officio members, university authorities, educationists and representatives of student’s organizations, businesspersons, donors and trustees.


Service Commission

The Service Commission (SC) is responsible for determining the selection of teaching staff based on the examination of the qualification of each candidate presented for nomination. In  consultation with  the Executive Council  and the Deans of  the  various faculties, the Service Commission recommends the candidates for approval by the Vice-Chancellor, appoints and recommends the rank to be assigned to new teachers and authorizes their promotion and further advancement based on their academic records


Academic Council

The Academic Council (AC) is the guardian of academic policies, rules and regulations of the University. It advises the Vice Chancellor of academic affairs and deals with all the matters pertaining to academic policies, rules and regulations of the University. Thus, it is the main educational and academic authority of the University.


The Academic Council assists the University in conducting and managing its educational, academic and research operations, makes decisions on educational policies and practices regarding  curricula,  teaching,  examinations  and  research.  The  Council  sets  up  and maintains the learning and teaching standards of the University in terms of curricula and quality   of   teaching   materials,   determines   the   types   of   examinations,   methods   of evaluations, size of the classes, and regulates admission requirements, qualifications and eligibility of students’ admission. All approved recommendations become effective on ratification of the Executive Council.


The Academic Council consists of eleven Members while the Vice Chancellor chairs the Council. Representatives from amongst the chairpersons, campus chiefs, teaching staff and highly renowned scholars are appointed by the Chairperson of the Academic Council.


Executive Council

The Executive Council (EC) is the executive body of the University which implements the decisions and directives of the Senate. The EC is concerned with all issues that pertain to the  administrative  areas  of  the  University,  such  as  preparing  and  presenting  annual budgets and programs, progresses and audited reports. It is responsible for formulating rules, regulations and other resolutions for running the University smoothly. The Council appoints and promotes teachers and employees as required by the University on recommendation  of  the  Service  Commission.  It  also  determines  fees  structures  and schemes of the students.


The  Executive  Council  consists  of  four  members.  The  Vice  Chancellor  chairs  the  EC meetings along with the participation of a representative among the deans and a representative from the teachers, while the Registrar functions as member secretary of the Council.


Appellate Commission

The Appellate Commission (AC) has a judicial mission as its primary function is to hear complaints and resolve disputes of teaching staff and administrative personnel against decisions of University Service Commission. The decisions of the Commission are binding. However, in case of dissatisfaction with the decisions of Appellate Commission, appellants may approach the Supreme Court for a final verdict.


Planning and Development Council

The Planning and Development Council is  responsible for  supervising  the overall  University development strategy by coordinating projects involving substantial capital development of the University and raising of necessary capital resources.


The Council promotes relations with the overseas community, in an effort to ensure their support for various projects of the University. It monitors the status of funded projects , prepares audit reports requested by funding agencies and provides assistance to faculties, departments and individual  teachers  in  preparing  proposals  for  sponsored academic  programs  and  research projects. The Council plans long term development strategy of the University, makes proposals on budgetary and financial matters, and undertakes studies on the sources of funds for planning and development.


The Planning and Development Council consists of various representatives amongst senior teachers, Campus Chiefs, teaching and highly renowned  scholars.  In  particular. the three representatives from amongst the senior teachers will be appointed by the Vice Chancellor of MU. Finally, the Planning Council is accountable to the Vice-chancellor.